Tags

, , ,

Well hello Northwestern, Run Burgundy here from KVWN News Center 4. I’m here to do a special segment just for you all here in Evanston, Illinois (which is a long ways from San Diego). I’m told there is a job/internship fair coming up on Tuesday, January 15 from noon-4 p.m. in SPAC, and I volunteered to give you some of my dress for success tips that have always brought me the best of luck. So get ready . . . here they are:

1. Ladies and gentlemen, choose the right attire. Now you may not want to opt for the vibrant colored suits Veronica and I usually sport, but go for a neutral color like black, gray, navy blue, etc. Ladies, you have a few more options and can go for beige, dark gray, and slate blue as well. Choose a long sleeved shirt that’s fairly conservative like white, light blue or subtle stripes. I am definitely not the conservative type, just ask Champ Kind from Sports. However, these colors will work best for you.

2. Don’t wear too much jewelry like rings, necklaces, earrings. You want the employer to notice your experience and energy, not all your bangles and jewels.

3. I’m Ron Burgundy. I’m known from my perfectly coiffed head of hair and an AMAZING mustache. No matter which hair-do you choose, make sure it’s polished. I’m always camera ready, so make sure you are too.

4. Now my good friend Brian Fantana has some interesting choices for cologne, but I recommend keeping it classy on the cologne. Opt for a very light fragrance or perhaps none at all. The last thing you want is for an employer to be allergic to your formidable scent. With a scent that’s too pungent, 60% of the time, it works none of the time.

5. Keep your emotions in check. When that awful man punted Baxter over the bridge, I was literally in a glass case of emotions. Now before the fair, you may feel like someone kicked your best friend into the ocean too. You may feel scared, uncertain, and nervous. Take a few deep breaths. You’ve prepared long and hard for this day, and you’re going to do great. If you need a little encouragement, talk to one of the staff members from University Career Services. They can help you calm down, and present your best self.

6. Lastly, you don’t have a teleprompter, so make sure you practice, practice, practice for the fair. No matter how great your outer appearance is, if you stumble over your words, you’ll lose the interest of your audience. Get your elevator pitch polished and perfected, and if you need a little help go see the staff at University Career Services. They can help you out.

Well, that’s all I’ve got. For more dress for success tips, check out what the team at UCS says on their website. They’re a bunch of pretty cool cats, if you ask me.

From all of us at News Center 4, I’m Ron Burgundy. You stay classy, Northwestern.

