Tags

, , , , ,

Karen in front of the AMC Networks SignI think they put their Emmy’s in a glass case to prevent me from touching them. As an MFA writing student with career goals in television, I could not have asked for a better place to intern than at AMC Networks. I linked up with the internship after University Career Services passed on my resume and I had a phone interview with fabulous AMC manager, Erika Weinstein. My past couple months at AMC has given me an up-close perspective of television development and how a story department works in general.

My job mostly consists of script coverage- aka analysis of new scripts that AMC will possibly develop. I read the good, the bad, the ugly, and the wonderful. As a studying screenwriter, reading incoming scripts has been infinitely helpful for me to know what to write as well as which topics to avoid. The staff I work with always provides useful insights to the industry as well as good humor on a daily basis. This combined with their diligent work ethic makes AMC an excellent place to work and constantly learn about both the business and creative sides of television. This work-fun balance is something I hope to bring to every job from here on out.

And then there’s Los Angeles. I’m living in Venice and absolutely love it here. Los Angeles can be described as a bunch of little cities, classically known as neighborhoods. I live less than a mile from the beach and at least twice a week run to the beach or walk around the Venice boardwalk, which teems with characters. My favorite was a man holding a sign saying KARMA IS A BLESSING. I must be blending in because yesterday someone asked me for directions.

This about sums up my internship and Los Angeles living experience. The summer has been everything I could have asked for as far as teaching me more about television and feature film development.  Many thanks to AMC Networks, Endgame Entertainment, and Northwestern Career Services as I am now (cautiously) confident about moving back to Los Angeles post-graduation next year.

About the NU Intern Blogger Program
This summer, over 50 Northwestern University students will be sharing stories about what they are experiencing at their internships from across the country and internationally. Each week new students will share an inside look at what it means to be an intern. Please contact Betsy Gill, Assistant Director, Internship Services if you have any questions.

