Tags

, , , , , ,

This summer, I had the pleasure of interning for Congressmen Sander M. Levin [D-MI] on Capitol Hill.  I am an economics major, so my original goal for the summer was to stick on the econ track and go into finance or consulting.  However, I decided to keep an open mind and apply to other internships that I found interesting.  For example, I thought it may prove interesting to intern at the corporate headquarters of Build-A-Bear for the summer.

However, my dad encouraged me to apply for an internship in Congressmen Levin’s office.  I researched Congressmen Levin and discovered that he is the ranking member on the Ways and Means Committee.  I got in touch with his economic advisor and internship coordinator and sent in an application.  I did not hear back for a while and was not expecting anything since I applied so late and I assumed that many people had already applied.

Fortunately, I got accepted and have loved interning here.  The first weeks I was here, I got to work with the economic advisor on the debate to extend the Bush tax cuts.  It was really fun to see when Democrats were on the floor and would cite numbers from the tables that I had made for them.  It was also exciting to work with the press secretary and get a report that I had made released.  Over the last few weeks, I answered phones, sorted mail, and did general intern work as I was the only intern left in the office.

However, working on the hill is “what you make of it.”  You need to explore on your own and look for things to learn.  I got lucky that the office that I worked in encouraged me to do this.  There are many briefings and even an internship lecture series that you may attend.   Make sure to meet other interns as this will make your experience more enjoyable and you will also learn about how other offices operate.

About the NU Intern Blogger Program
This summer, over 50 Northwestern University students will be sharing stories about what they are experiencing at their internships from across the country and internationally. Each week new students will share an inside look at what it means to be an intern. Please contact Betsy Gill, Assistant Director, Internship Services if you have any questions.

