My experience so far has definitely met all my previous notions of what my internship at Abriendo Mentes, a nonprofit organization in Costa Rica would be like. I had found it using CareerCat, specifying for any international internships. Then, the Communications and Social Media Intern opportunity popped up, and I contacted the director the day after. And now I’m here!

A casual atmosphere, I am surrounded by passionate, involved staff and volunteers that are working to improve the lives of the community members in a small town called Playa Portrero. My supervisor, specifically, has made me feel unbelievably welcome and valued within the organization. Because no one specifies in video and interviews here, I have been able to go full force filming the various activities that they’ve had these past couple of days. I have also learned about Abriendo Mentes’ communications strategy, which I will help organize and work on fully. Because we are, indeed, in Costa Rica, the days can sometimes be slow. I am only waiting for them to download video editing software in order to start posting and blogging for them.

Today I was given a tour of Playa Portrero, my hometown, from the homestay children, which took about half an hour to see the entire village! We went to the supermarket to look for things to make my own lunches, which will include many turkey and tomato sandwiches. After that, I had my orientation, which included seeing the beaches, which are literally their backyard, as well as the unbelievable community pool nearby! After that, I had my intake and internship overview.

This is literally my dream job- I’ll be profiling community members about the impact of Abriendo Mentes, as well as filming all the different activities the organization has to offer. I am absolutely loving my time here after my first day! I would not have been able to accept the internship if not for SIGP, Northwestern’s Summer Internship Grant Program. It has helped me tremendously to remove the heavy financial burden of loans, which would have been the only way I could afford the flight and living expenses in Costa Rica.  Though it is quite the small town, the community feel is incredible here. How ever will I leave!

About the NU Intern Blogger Program
This summer, over 50 Northwestern University students will be sharing stories about what they are experiencing at their internships from across the country and internationally. Each week new students will share an inside look at what it means to be an intern. Please contact Betsy Gill, Assistant Director, Internship Services if you have any questions.

